EFOMP Awards and Honours - Criteria and Nomination Procedure

One of the underlying principles of EFOMP's Constitution is to strengthen Medical Physics in Europe by fostering and coordinating the activities of NMO's, and EFOMP recognizes that individual members of NMO's contribute to this aim by their outstanding work in various areas. To encourage individuals to participate in the development of Medical Physics in Europe, EFOMP has created two awards:

  • The EFOMP Medal Recognizing an individual's outstanding and internationally acknowledged contribution to the advancement of Medical Physics
  • EFOMP Honorary Membership Recognizing an individual who through his/her career has contributed to advancements in Research, education and training or organizational affairs and professional activities in Medical Physics in Europe.

Nominations for these awards are normally requested alternatively every year, with the intention of making a single award at each year’s Conference.

Nomination Procedures


The formal procedure for nominations is similar for both the EFOMP Medal and EFOMP Honorary Membership. Officers have responsibility for the administration of the EFOMP Awards and Honours Programme. An EFOMP Awards and Honours Task-Group comprising the President, Vice-President and Secretary General, chaired by the Vice-President, is appointed to manage the Awards Programme, particularly soliciting nominations from NMO ’s. Officers will select one candidate from the nominations submitted for each award, and recommend this decision to Council for approval.


  1. In the year following the EFOMP Congress each NMO is invited, by a letter sent by the Secretary General, to provide a single nomination for each award. Nominations need to include a short CV, comprising a description of the career of the nominee as a medical physicist, and two supporting reports from leading medical physicists, at least one of whom should be from outside the proposing NMO.
  2. The Task-Group will review all the documentation against the Award criteria and will prepare the nominations for submission to Officers.
  3. A secret ballot of Officers will be held and each Officer will rank the nominations in order of preference. In the case of a tie for first preference, a second ballot will be held. If this second ballot also results in a tie, the Chair of the Task-Group will take the final decision.
  4. If the Task-Group comes to the conclusion that no candidate meets the Award Criteria, Officers will recommend to Council that no award be made.
  5. The recommendation will be put to Council in a form of a postal ballot. A short CV of nominee is to be included in the submission to Council.
  6. The Chair of the Task-Group is responsible for notifying the successful candidate, and for making the necessary arrangements with the candidate for presentation of the award.
  7. The Chair of the Task-Group is responsible for making appropriate arrangements for the presentation of EFOMP awards at the annual EFOMP Conference.
  8. The Task-Group is responsible for reviewing the appropriateness of the Award Criteria and the procedure for selecting candidates, and to develop the EFOMP Award Programme.

Revised on 31st of May 2011